Part Two: Swedish Recap

Not really a whole lot to say about Swedish this time around. While I did enjoy speaking it (especially with a couple of friends), I wasn’t left with the same impression I had with Norwegian, the other Scandinavian language I picked for part two. If anything, it just reminded me of a stronger version of Norwegian.

One thing I do go over in the recap (and I was exhausted while making it, so my apologies) is that the pronunciation is a bit harder. The k and g sounds change depending on whether hard vowels (a, o, u, å) or soft ones (e, i, ä, ö and also y, which sounds like the German ü) come after them. That tripped me up quite a bit, along with pronouncing the “sj” sound, which roughly sounds like someone clearing his or her throat. Also, wondering if I got the pitch right in words was minor worry. But everything else was a basically breeze.

37 Languages – Swedish Recap from Keith Brooks on Vimeo.

Stay tuned for a recap of the last language in part two, Albanian! And, in preparation for the selection (it’s almost, almost here!), a look back at all the languages I’ve done and why I did and didn’t choose them.

3 Responses to “Part Two: Swedish Recap”


  1. 1 turbeng May 14, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Interesting blog! I´m Swedish myself but I run a Spanish podcast, don Gerardo de Suecia on this address:
    http://turbeng.wordpress.com/ I have English and Swedish translations oof many episodes.
    Bienvenidos, Welcome, Välkommen!

  2. 2 Ingeman June 6, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I just found your blog and a couple of minutes ago I was looking at both the norwegian and the swedish recap-video. I am swedish myself and I reacted on the fact that you separate the languages so much. Some even consider them two dialects of the same language often referred to as scandinavian, and I agree. We spell a little different and our language-melody is sometimes different too but we do understand eachother in general and for example the ø och ö is really the same letter aswell as æ and ä, but it’s only written in two separate ways.

    The grammar is almost exactly the same. What separates the languages or dialects is some words and the melody of the language. This is just some thoughts and no criticism. Good luck! Hopefully you have understood my english! :)

    • 3 37languages June 12, 2010 at 12:41 am

      Thanks for your comment! Being an American English speaker (who thinks your English was fine, by the way), Swedish stood out from Norwegian to me due to vocabulary differences and then the spelling of the three letters (å, æ/ä, and ø/ö). But Swedish sounds a lot stronger than Norwegian (Oslo dialect) when I listen to it. Whether it can be considered a dialect of the same language is not for me to determine. However, I thought it was appropriate to treat them as separate, particularly because I was not familiar with any of the Scandinavian languages before I started the blog; I was completely unaware of their similarities.

      However, Swedish is great! If I’m able to become fluent in Norwegian, understanding Swedish will be a piece of cake! :)


Leave a Reply

37 Languages on Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

