And the language is …

… NORWEGIAN!!!!

This was NOT an easy decision to make! I was completely torn between all of the ones from Part Two, especially Turkish. However, I think I made the right decision and am very excited about learning the language.

You can listen to me talk about this in my interview with Patrick Cox from “The World in Words” podcast here. Also, feel free to subscribe to the RSS if you enjoy languages — it’s a really awesome show!

I cannot thank you all enough, from those who helped me in this project to those who read the blog and even all who participated in this virtual event. You are truly amazing and this could not have happened without you.

There’s more to come, including why I chose Norwegian and a video of me speaking it! Stay tuned!

Ha det bra og klem!

17 Responses to “And the language is …”


  1. 1 Kjetil Endresen May 7, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    http://fagbokforlaget.no/?isbn=978-82-450-0124-2

    Amazing little thingie of 6 pages, which give an overview of the Norwegian grammar. It has one fo Nynorsk too (I recommand to stick with Bokmål)

    If you get to the point that you want to read a book, I highly recommend this one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naive,_Super

    Easy and simple language, not too big, funny, and very popular.

    on pronounciation:

    KJ – If you don’t know this sound right away, don’t ever try to learn it. Just use SH. It is a dying sound, and a lot of Norwegians have already ditched it for SH.

    Perfect pronounciation of my name, “Kjetil”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hCBk62lX4I

    R – The easiest way to spot a foreigner from English speaking countries is to hear when they pronounce R. If you want to sound like a real Norwegian*, work on your R’s.

    Good luck! I hope you will enjoy the Scandinavian languages. Please keep us posted on your progress and what you learn!

    Lykke til!

    • 2 37languages May 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Kjetil (“She”til),

      Mange, MANGE takk for dette og din hjelp! I will definitely try to buy that book and remember everything you told me. I was unfamiliar with the “kj” sound, but now I know how to pronounce it correctly! I hope to speak Norwegian with you in the future (and may need your help)!

  2. 3 Janelle May 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Congratulations Keith! So excited for the next part of your journey.

  3. 5 Mithridates May 13, 2010 at 9:04 am

    One of the first impressions I had of Norwegian was that the vocabulary seemed kind of like those words that sometimes pop into your head when you’re just waking up that seem like English but then turn out to be nonsense, though strangely familiar. Understreke for emphasize, oversette for translate, forhold for conditions, handling for action, that sort of thing. So in a way it’s kind of like going through another possible version of your own mother tongue, in the same way that you can give the same directions to two people to carry out a task and come back with two similar but different ways of doing it.

    • 6 37languages May 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      Hi Mithridates,

      I think you hit the nail right on the head! That’s what it reminds me of — when you’re first waking up and words sound blurry but seem familiar. That’s what Norwegian seems like for me. I also agree with your analogy; English and Norwegian, although different paths, seem to cross each other quite a bit, with the same destination.

  4. 7 lyzazel May 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    A great choice indeed. Learninig more Norwegian is most likely on my list as well although that would be a bit impractical for me at this moment.

    I think you should learn to speak it pretty well fast or so and you will be able to go with a new X languages challenge soon. :)

    • 8 37languages May 21, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Thank you Iyzazel! That is definitely an option, learning Norwegian and possibly learning another right after it. But I admire everything you’re doing with languages and your courses — how do you do it all? :)

  5. 9 Klara May 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

    As a teacher of Norwegian as a second language I can only laud your choice – and of course say : Lykke til!

    And I am of course looking forwards to seeing you learn it!

  6. 11 Jennie May 22, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Yay! Just as I’m about to focus more on Scandinavian languages too. I’m enjoying going back through your blog. Very interesting stuff! I also love the sound of Croatian/Serbian. :)

    • 12 37languages June 12, 2010 at 12:24 am

      Yay! I’m glad you are going to focus more on Scandinavian languages (excellent!) and are having fun going through the blog. And also, congratulations to you with yours for making the Top 10! Hade bra! :)

  7. 13 Rick Dearman May 26, 2010 at 8:15 am

    You might find it useful to have a look at my new book on learning a language quickly and efficiently. I have published the first three chapters online at:

    http://language.xgipublishing.com/

    I am looking for reviewers.

  8. 15 Priscila Andrade May 28, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Hi,

    I’m writing to inform you that although your blog got to the voting phase it wasn’t classified as one of The Top 100 Language Blogs 2010. We’d like to thank you for participating and sharing this experience with us!

    With 495 nominated blogs and more than twenty thousand user votes the competition broke last year’s record, making it probably the largest competition in its field. You’re welcome to visit bab.la and see the complete list if The Top 100 Language Blogs 2010 here:

    http://bab.la/news/top-100-language-blogs-2010

    Kind regards,

    Priscila

    On behalf of the bab.la and Lexiophiles team

  9. 16 oddmund kårevik June 28, 2010 at 6:55 am

    kom back til norge!
    du treng lengre tid!

    i would be very happy to show you some of the great spots!

    norge er eit vakkert vakkert land
    men som du også peikar på OVERPRISA
    det er bra du har kroner igjen…

    det er meir enn kva eg har!

    great to meet you!

    alle gode ting din veg!

    frå oddmund

    • 17 37languages June 28, 2010 at 5:26 pm

      Hei Oddmund, jeg vil!!! Jeg savner det så!

      It would be great if you could show me around, I want to see other parts of Norway besides Oslo. Maybe some fjords! :)

      Jepp, jeg er enig, Norge er SÅ vakkert. Og rene! Jeg er glad du er min venn. Jeg kan ikke vente til jeg er flytende og kan snakke med deg på norsk! Klemmer til deg! :D


Leave a Reply

37 Languages on Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

