Spanish: Hasta luego.

Well, that was quick.

After watching the original Colombian and recent Mexican versions of Ugly Betty along with a bunch of other humorous videos (which, I assure you, have added to my productivity in this project), I think it’s time to call it a day and move on.

I thought I would be swooned when I began rolling my Rs again and decided to be bold and not use subtitles. But no, still not impressed.  I had a great time, but I’m not covering the check.

SUMMARY: Spanish is one of the most widely spoken languages on the globe and rivals English in its coverage. A Romance language that was pretty much formed on the Iberian peninsula during the days from when Spain was a kingdom and world power, it went everywhere and then some, thanks to not-so unfamiliar conquistadores and explorers like Christopher Columbus. Like all other Romance languages, it uses a masculine and feminine form for nouns and adjectives along with the definite articles “el” and “la” (which mean “the”).

Some other important things to note about Spanish is that it is highly inflected; the meaning of words change when the word endings change. Spanish regular verbs end in -ar, -er and -ir and conjugation is easy to remember, but irregular verb are a different set of chapters.

Also, Castillian (Spain) Spanish uses second person plural (vosotros) while Latin American Spanish doesn’t. Example:

Castillian: Vosotros hablais en ingles.
Latin American: Ustedes hablan en ingles.

Both mean You (plural) are speaking in English. I’m not sure why vosotros only exists in Spain though.

Also, accent, accents, accents! Well, they’re not terribly different, but in Spain, the c and z tend to be pronounced like a lispy “th” before words (zapatos, which means shoes, would sound like “thapatos”). Also, in Latin American Spanish, Chilean notably, sounds tend to be truncated. The word “para” (which means “in order to” or “for”) is often shortened to “pa” when spoken.

Here’s a funny little video highlighting dialectal differences by Carlos from the MTV version of TRL (the American one is defunct, can you believe it?):

FINAL IMPRESSION: The spark is mostly gone. I still like listening to Spanish, but I just wonder if it really is meant for me to learn, seeing as how I have tried to “get it” for years now. Words are longer than in a lot of languages (except perhaps German and a few others), so more syllables mean more confusion. I can still get bits and pieces and read it fine but I just can’t grasp it like I want. I don’t know if there is a Spanish version of “ARGH!” but it fits here. In spite of this, I still feel connected to the language and may continue learning it as a tertiary option.

EVALUATION:

Intelligibilty: 3
Complexity: 3
Resonance: 4
Continuation: 3

COMING UP: Vietnamese

One thought on “Spanish: Hasta luego.

Leave a Reply

