Moldavian: Wait a second … didn’t I just do this one?

We should probably take a step back … way, way back.

The second post of this blog covered Romanian. And here I find myself sampling Moldavian aka, Moldovan, which is apparently a clone of Romanian. To the point where even the locals are divided about whether it’s actually a separate language or not.

Where in the world is Moldova? It’s a tiny little country sandwiched between Ukraine and, you guessed it, Romania. Moldova, like its southern neighbor, was settled by Dacians and eventually went through a period of invasions by Eurasian tribes, most notably Tatar, in the Middle Ages before becoming the Principality of Moldavia in 1359. It was also part of the Ottoman Empire, but unlike many of its neighbor provinces, it held on to its autonomy.

Around the early 1800s, an eastern chunk of the principality became Bessarabia, an annexation of Russia (politically and culturally, or at least that was at least Russia’s aim). The western half of Moldavia (not yet Moldova) united with another province called Wallachia to form Romania; Bessarabia joined with Moldavia briefly before it was taken back by Russia. When this happened, the Tatar population was expelled and populations of other ethnic groups (specifically Bulgarians, Slavs and Jews) caused the original Moldavian population to decline.

Bessarabia eventually reunited with Romania after the Bolshevik overthrow in 1917. This would last for a short time, fostering a period of Romanization (which hindered the culture of minorities), until the far eastern part of the region, Transnistria, became part of Russia and was renamed the Moldavian ASSR and the rest of the region was invaded by the Soviets. Even though the Romanians retreated, nearly 40,000 died.

Half of the country would go to the predecessor of Ukraine’s predecessor while the other half formed the Moldavian SSR. After WWII, the region, like Romania, fell under Soviet influence and many people suffered from Stalin’s brutal tyranny. Moldova would break free and declare independence in 1991.

WRITING SYSTEM:

Until 1989, Moldavian was written in Cyrillic. In some parts, it still is. But because we’re modern, I’ll just refer you to the Romanian post I already did.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:
Part of me is screaming, “why should I even do this? This will be exactly like Romanian!” But I think it’s fair to give Moldavian its due. Obviously it sounds like Romanian to me, but we’ll see if anything major erupts.

Also, do you remember the video I had of little Romanian gem Cleopatra Stratan singing “Ghita”? Well, this American man does a pretty good version that’s apparently also Moldavian (sorry, the embed doesn’t work).

4 thoughts on “Moldavian: Wait a second … didn’t I just do this one?

  1. Please, please tell me how I can obtain the towns that make up Wallachia. My maternal grandparents came from Wallachia and I was told that this inn’t a town but an area. Please if you can, tell me the towns, that comprise Wallachia.

    Thanks so much,
    Lois

  2. Take a look at my Arabic blog when you’re ready to make a taste test of Arabic. If you’re looking for a chic language for English speakers then I’d have to say that Arabic is it. When your friends see you reading Arabic script they’ll think you look like a wizard with some arcane text researching spells lol. Well, good luck with you testing of 37 languages and I hope you find one that is just right for you. =)

  3. Hi Lois,

    While I’m not the best person to ask, this map of cities located in the region known as Wallachia could be helpful: http://www.restromania.com/images/harti/wm_mari/Wallachia_Mare.jpg. Wallachia is also called Valahia or Vlahia, so please keep that in mind in search inquiries.

    There also appear to be two towns called Curtea de Arges and Sinaia that make up Wallachia. I think if you’re searching for cities that made up Wallachia at the time of your grandparents birth, you should try researching the cities that made up southern Romania in the early 1900s, as Wallachia is pretty much just southern modern-day Romania.

  4. The Arabic Student,

    Thank you so much for checking out my blog! Yours is really interesting and thorough as well! When I reach Arabic, I will definitely look at yours and possibly use it for review. Good luck in your studies!

Leave a Reply

