Serbian: Doviđenja!

We are now finished with Serbian. This is the first post with a video recap (yay!), so I highly encourage you to check that out and leave comments.

SUMMARY: Serbian is a South Slavic language spoken by 12 million people in Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Herzegovina and the Balkans. Serbian is derived from Old Church Slavonic (like Slovenian and Bulgarian) and carries influences from Russian, German, Bosnian and Turkish. It was reformed in the 1800s by linguists Vuk Karadzic and Ljudevit Gaj. The language is currently written in Cyrillic and a Latin alphabet.

FINAL IMPRESSIONS:

Check out the video below to see my thoughts:


EVALUATION:

Intelligibility: 4
Complexity: 3
Resonance: 3
Continuation: 3

COMING UP: Chinese

7 thoughts on “Serbian: Doviđenja!

  1. Keith!
    I love love love your project. It is saved as my first bookmark and I can relate to you 100%. I also, have always loved languages since I was little. I speak four and will continue to learn them as a life hobby. I´m about to do my Phd in Spanish Linguistics so I´m ready to dive back into that world. I will follow you to the end of this project. I find it fascinating and you have such an open, respectful view towards languages that I can really appreciate. Consider me one of your biggest fans. can´t wait to see the rest.

    best of luck,
    Kristina

  2. Is Serbian ever really written in the Latin alphabet in any official capacity? I guess Bosnian is if you want to call that Serbian rather than Croatian. Serbian really is only written in Cyrillic unless you are talking about the Internet where Japanese and Farsi and Russian speakers also lapse into writing in the Latin alphabet.
    http://www.omniglot.com/writing/serbo-croat.htm

    Croatian is closer to Serbian grammatically and phonologically than Australian English is to American English. Treating them as separate languages for learning purposes is a little redundant unless you’re studying Slavic Linguistics or planning an in-depth comparative study for some other reason.

    I need to read more about your project. Have you really never studied a declined language like Latin? What an ambitious dive you’re taking. Fun! Enjoy. 🙂

    1. Thank you for the compliments! No, I have never studied Latin or anything similar to it. There’s a lot that I don’t know (the Cyrllic-Latin interchange) and I would be willing to get more details about it. Thanks for the details.

      As for the minor differences between Croatian and Serbian, it makes sense. I will definitely find out more when I write about Croatian later in the blog.

  3. i can’t believe that you odn’t like noun cases! that will pretty much cut out all uralic, baltic and slavic languages; as well as latin.

    i had always thought the alphabet difference (cyrillic/latin) was based on religion. serbs are mostly east orthydox, so they use cyrillic because their religion and alphabet came down from byzantium. the croats use the latin alphabet because they tend to be catholic and get their religion and alphabet from rome.

    another thing about cases. i suggest that you try one of these languages sometime. i lived for two years in russia and found the cases to be very difficult. but i stuck with it and suddenly it made sense. cases really free up sentence word order a lot and often take the place of prepositions that would be used in english.

    keep up the good work. i came to this blog late, but i find it refreshing to find out that there are people like me out there. most of my friends think i’m mental.

    1. Oh no, not necessarily! Those are a feature I tend not to like. But for some reason, when I read about Serbian, I was able to overlook it. I’m not sure why, but maybe because .

      And thank you for the clarifying the Cyrillic/Latin difference! That makes so much sense (Croats are mostly Catholic and thus Latin is used while Serbs, like others in the Balkans, have Old Church Slavonic roots which mostly used Cyrillic). I’ve mentioned that so many times in my posts for Slavic languages, I can’t believe I just now realized it.

      And thanks for reading! You’re definitely not late; this is only Part One of the blog. It’s the longest part, but the one with the most “stuff.” I’m glad we have something in common and look forward to your contributions!

  4. Hi ppl :))
    Im from Serbia which is in Europe ha ha. I have to say that most facts about Serbian here are not true 😦 ..but I will help u to understand :DD

    People in Serbia mostly write latin !!! Latin & Cyrilic are both oficial but state ofices usualy try to write in cyrilic.In our schools we srite cyrilic 70% and latin 30%. All shops name in Serbia are in latin and all people read it as usual.Cyrilic is not so connected with Serbian ortodox chearch cuz most Serbs dont go to church and think of her only as tradition keeper…Serbia is the only state in world (exc. Ukraine which is complicated) who use both cyrilic&latin.

    Do I have to mention that all ortodox states use different cyrilic? ha ha

    In Bosnia ppl speak more serbian then croatian and cyrilic is used by Serbs there who have 37.5% in population.

    You also said that Serbian is spoken by 12 mil of people which is not true…its spoken by 21 mil. People in Slovenia,Serbia,Croatia,Bosnia,Macedonia and Montenegro speak Serbian fluently …Im not talking about serbo-croatian which was oficial in ex-Yugoslavia or today Croatian

    ha ha thats all….take care :)))

  5. ha ha I wastched your video !!!!!!! very cool :)))

    well if u speak Serbian then u will learn english very easy cuz our language will not provide u some typical akcent like when Germans,French,Italians,Russians or Mexicans speak english…meaning when Serb speak english u will think that english is his mother language LOL

    bye bye

Leave a Reply

