Part Two: Norwegian Recap

Heeeeeeeeere’s Norwegian!

I had a lot of fun with Norwegian this time around. I think I even had actual thoughts in the language at some points! I reveal my English ones in the video below.

37 Languages – Norwegian Recap from Keith Brooks on Vimeo.

To be honest, there weren’t really many difficulties with looking at Norwegian again. Pretty much smooth sailing. But as I tried to explain in the video (in a somewhat confounding manner), a big issue is that Norwegian uses grammatical gender. Learning to figure out which nouns are masculine, feminine or neuter could pose a slight problem, although the easy way of remember is through the definite article et, which always goes with neuter nouns. As explained by I Kinda Like Languages, one could just think of -et nouns and non -et nouns to make it easier.

Keep up, as I’m taking a closer look at Turkish this week! Yaşasın!

2 thoughts on “Part Two: Norwegian Recap

  1. To elaborate a bit what you touched in the video about nouns and dialects:

    Feminine genders are voluntary, so splitting between masculine and neutral is indeed a good idea. You can just wait with feminine all together until you get a hang of masculine vs. neuter.

    Both correct:
    Ei jente – den jenta <- feminine
    En jente – den jenten <- masculine

    When I teach foreign people, I find the dialects to be most difficult. When I talk Norwegian, I talk with a strong dialect that is very different from the written one. This means that when I teach someone Norwegian, I have to teach them a different "fake" Norwegian than the one I speak – just so they can understand it and relate it to the written they learn. It's not until they can speak pretty good Norwegian I get back to trying talking "normal" to them.

    me normal speech: Eg ekkje bitten redde studa.
    me teaching speech: Jeg er ikke det minste redd for stuter/okser.
    English: I am not at all afraid of oxes.(I am not the least afraid of oxes)

    me normal speech: E jenge på sjeise.
    me teaching speech: Jeg går på skøyter.
    English: I am skating (I am going on skates)

  2. Coincidentally I was looking at Norwegian last week, too! It’s a fun language to speak out loud.

    The best advice I ever heard about gender was: Masculine? Feminine? Neuter? Just pick one and go with it! It’s not technically correct, but it frees up mental space and gets you talking sooner. It works well in spoken French where you can just shorten both “le” and “la” to “l'” and still be understood.

    A caveat to the above, though, is if there are tricks to correctly identifying gender (such as lyzazel’s -et versus non -et nouns you mentioned), exploit them!

Leave a Reply

